Breath Test Refusal in Fort Lauderdale
If you are placed under lawful arrest for DUI in Florida, you have a decision to make. The officer will ask you if you will take a breath, urine, or blood test depending on the facts and circumstances of your arrest. Florida Law requires you to submit to this request. If you look closely at your Florida driver’s license, the bottom reads “operation of a motor vehicle constitutes consent to any sobriety test required by law.” Therefore, if you refuse to take a breath, urine, or blood test, there are consequences. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 1 year if this is your first refusal and 18 months if you have previously refused to submit to testing. Also, if you have previously refused a breath test, you could face an additional criminal charge of “Refusal to Submit to Testing”, which carries a maxium penality of 1 year in jail. If you find yourself in this situation, you need to contact a Ft. Lauderdale DUI attorney immediately so we can fight to get your driving privilege back!
You only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to challenge this license suspension! The immediate suspension of your driving priviledges is done by the Department of Motor Vehicles. We will immediately request a hearing to contest your license suspension. If you are eligable, we can get you a temporary driving permit for you to drive for business purposes while we fight to get your driver’s license back. We have handles thousands of these hearing and know what defenses to rasie to sucessfuly get your license back.
DUI Attorney in Fort Lauderdale
We at DiRenzo Defense know how inportant a persons driver’s license is to them. Returning a persons drivers license is just as important as winning the criminal case. We have represented clients in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida who have refused to take the breath test and face loss of their driver’s licenses. When we take on a case, we find out all the circumstances to prepare effective defenses for the DMV hearing. We also deal with any criminal charges. We have helped many save their licenses by relentlessly challenging the evidence and procedure. Contact us now before the 10 days expire!
Contact a Ft. Lauderdale DUI Lawyer at the firm without delay for a Free Consultation about your Breath Test Refusal.