Fort Lauderdale Under 21 DUI Attorney
Have You Been Charged With an Under 21 DUI Offense?
Florida enforces the zero tolerance law. This means it is against the law for any person under the age of 21 to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or breath alcohol level of 0.02% or higher. It is against the law for anyone under 21 to consume alcohol in this state. Underage drinking and driving is considered a serious matter by prosecutors. If you or your child has been arrested for DUI under 21 or arrested under the zero tolerance law you need to consult with a Fort Lauderdale DUI attorney. The loss of driving privileges and other penalties are the usual outcome in a conviction.
Under 21 DUI Lawyer in Ft. Lauderdale
A driver under the age of 21 has the same rights as any other driver when stopped by a police officer. If the officer suspects the driver has been drinking and has the requisite reasonable suspecion, the SFST (Standard Field Sobriety Test) may be conducted.
The officer now has a decision to make, will they arrest the driver or provide the driver with an under 21 notice of suspension. If the officer decides to provide the under 21 notice of suspension, then no criminal charges will result. Instead, the driver will face the loss of his or her license for either 6 months or a year depending on whether the person submitted to a breath test.
- Blood alcohol level of .02% or greater: a driver under the age of 21 who operates a motor vehicle while with a blood alcohol concentration of .02% or greater may face drivers license suspension for 6 months.
- Refusal of Breath Test: a driver under the age of 21 who refuses to submit to a breath test may face a drivers license suspension for 12 months.
In this case, we will request a hearing BUT you must contact us within 10 days of the issuance of the Notice of Suspension. An experienced DUI lawyer at our firm will appear on your behalf to cross examine witnesses and challenge the evidence against you. It is important to have competent legal representation to fight to avoid the penalties which will otherwise go into effect.
If the officer decides to arrest the under 21 driver, the driver will face the same penalties and the same procedures as any other person charged with DUI in the State of Florida.
Our legal team has been successfully defending Under 21 DUI charges for clients in the Fort Lauderdale area for many years. Call an attorney from DiRenzo Defense to discuss your suspension hearing defense with a talented DUI lawyer.
Contact a Ft. Lauderdale Under 21 DUI Attorney at our firm to defend your driving privileges.