The Master Law

How Could a DUI Conviction Affect Your Car Insurance Rates in Florida?

Even though Florida has no-fault car insurance laws, there are still minimum coverage requirements that motorists must meet in order to purchase and maintain a vehicle in our state. These requirements include at least $10,000 of coverage in personal injury protection (PIP) and at least $10,000 of coverage in property damage liability (PDL).

(more…)

Wrong-Way Driver Gets 29-Year Sentence for Causing Head-on Collision That Killed 2 in 2015

According to the SunSentinel, the 26-year-old man who caused a fatal drunk driving collision on I-95 near Broward County in 2015 received his sentencing earlier this month. The man was facing six charges when he appeared before a judge, but four of them were dismissed due to their repetitive nature.

(more…)

What Are Your Rights at a Sobriety Checkpoint in Florida?

In the state of Florida, sobriety checkpoints are legal. That means police can pull over motorists without probable cause if the drivers pass through an established checkpoint, so long as certain policies and procedures are followed in establishing the checkpoint..

(more…)

Does Domestic Violence Result in Misdemeanor or Felony Charges in Florida?

Florida courts take domestic violence seriously, but that does not mean you will automatically face felony charges if a family member has accused you of a crime involving domestic violence. A variety of factors ultimately determines whether domestic violence accusations will result in misdemeanor or felony charges.

(more…)

How to Avoid DUI Charges Over Labor Day Weekend

Labor Day is one of the busiest travel holidays of the year. Many people choose to celebrate the long weekend with a few drinks, but if your plans involve alcohol, bear in mind that police will be out in full force to identify and arrest drunk drivers.

(more…)

What Are Admin Per Se Laws? Insights

In an effort to discourage drunk driving, many states have enacted some version of admin per se laws, which impose administrative penalties for driving under the influence in addition to the criminal penalties that a DUI conviction carries. These laws give states the power to suspend or revoke the licenses of individuals who have either failed a blood alcohol content test or refused to take one.

(more…)

How Can I Fight Shoplifting Charges? 3 Strategies from a Criminal Attorney in Fort Lauderdale

Shoplifting convictions carry severe penalties in the state of Florida. Possible sentences include fines and jail time, but that is not all you have to worry about if you are facing charges. In addition to taking on the prosecutor in a criminal case, you may also face a civil case because the merchant has the right to sue you for damages.

(more…)

What Are the Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Florida? Insights from a Criminal Lawyer in Fort Lauderdale

If police catch you leaving the scene of an accident for any reason in the state of Florida, you could face criminal charges. The circumstances surrounding the collision and the amount of damage it caused will determine if you face misdemeanor or felony charges.

(more…)

Man Gets 364-Day Jail Sentence for DUI Involving Scooter

News-Press reports on a recent DUI case in Florida involving a scooter and an offender with multiple convictions. According to authorities, the man crashed his scooter into a median before it landed on top of him.

(more…)

Are Sobriety Checkpoints Legal in Florida?

In order to conduct a traffic stop and assess a motorist’s sobriety, police must have probable cause to pull over the driver in the first place—most of the time. If police are conducting a sobriety checkpoint, though, they can essentially pull over motorists at random in order to identify drunk drivers.

(more…)

1 2 3 4
 

Pin It on Pinterest